We are called to be free.

“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.” (Galatians 5:13) NIV

How amazing is that? WE are called to be free! Why be chained to sin, worry, anxiety, and fear when a loving father created us to love one another? Let’s be honest. When you are having negative thoughts it is hard to show love and compassion. But when we are walking by the spirit “you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.” (Galatians 5:16) NIV

What does it mean by flesh?

Looking at the original word in the greek language, it is referring to our sinful state as human beings (which is opposite of the spirit). In Galatians it states some acts of the flesh such as sexual immorality, fits of range, drunkenness, etc.

I find myself battling a spiritual battle everyday. I have caught myself having some fits of range because of stress or even frustration. But I know now that this is contrary to the spirit…and this is where we put what we learned into practice. Through recognition of this struggle I have and prayer, I will seek God to help me walk by the spirit…to find peace whenever I find myself in frustration and use that energy instead to love others. We are only human but Truth in Jesus Christ can set us free!

I CHALLENGE YOU today to walk by the spirit. Serve others. Love one another.

In Jesus name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

